The original film perfectly captured Black ’90s culture with the famous high-top hairstyles and exuberant fashion. The new movie was a time capsule of millennial Black culture, with hairstyles like the “scruff” and trendy cultural fashion such as Palm Angels sweatsuits, Gallery Dept., and more. Throughout the film, you also see the significance of present-day social media, as the party is promoted on Instagram, and phones are pulled out to record every minor instance.  “This dives into the celebrity LA culture, if you go to a party in the Hills, that’s the makeup of the people that are there,” says House Party director Calmatic. “We often share the same spaces with these celebrities. House Party is often a snapshot of the current culture, so having people of that time is important.”  “Being a film director was never my end goal, but it came naturally. I learned early in this film that I knew way more than I thought. I can do everything from comedy to Marvel films,” he stated.    “I felt the pressure of remaking a classic when the trailer came out,” Calmatic revealed. “When I was filming it, I wasn’t thinking of the original movie. We wanted to create new moments, not attached to the original, but carries a similar spirit.” 

Here s Why I Think House Party Is The Next Black Classic - 65Here s Why I Think House Party Is The Next Black Classic - 10Here s Why I Think House Party Is The Next Black Classic - 56Here s Why I Think House Party Is The Next Black Classic - 3Here s Why I Think House Party Is The Next Black Classic - 51Here s Why I Think House Party Is The Next Black Classic - 5Here s Why I Think House Party Is The Next Black Classic - 1Here s Why I Think House Party Is The Next Black Classic - 35